Pet Storytime

A new job means new and different responsibilities. I was called in to fill in for a storytime with about a week to prep for it. I’ve never done a storytime in a professional setting but I’ve read stories to children in my personal life. I also went to a training workshop a few years ago with our system.

I opted to go for something simple that is always a hit with kids… pets! I did a slight twist on pets and read stories about unusual pets.

The books

Children Make Terrible Pets by Peter Brown

Peanut by Linas Alsenas

Silly Doggy by Adam Stower

Matilda’s Cat by Emily Gravett

The Songs, Rhymes, and Fun

If You’re a Pet and You Know It
(Sung to the to tune of “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)

Can You?
This was great for getting them up because they were being a bit antsy.

The Craft

I didn’t get any pictures but I printed a dog house on a piece of paper and printed up some different clip art pets and cut them up. The kids had to glue their pet(s) to the page with the dog house and color everything.

 

I think this was a good first storytime. It worked out that only a few kids came because of summer so I didn’t feel as overwhelmed. Hurrah!

Also major thank you to all the storytime/librarian blogs out there! You make storytime planning so much easier.

Share Your Thoughts

