Elephant and Piggie Storytime

I’m now officially the youth services “librarian” at our branch! It’s exciting and terrifying and a bit exhausting.

For my sanity, I’m going to keep my baby/toddler storytime and preschool storytime with the same theme and just slightly alter what I do with each group.

Sign Language

One of the things I knew I wanted to incorporate into each storytime was a bit of baby sign language. I’ll be teaching them a sign or two that goes with the theme of the week and encourage them to use those signs while I’m reading the stories and mention those words.

This week’s words were Elephant and Pig.

The Books

Happy Pig Day by Mo Willems

Elephants Cannot Dance by Mo Willems

I’m a Frog! by Mo Willems

Today I Will Fly by Mo Willems

Truthfully, you can simply use whatever Elephant and Piggie books you have on hand. These were my picks for baby/toddler storytime and preschool storytime. I chose them because they had the potential to be interactive if I needed them to be. (“Piggie’s teaching Gerald to dance! Let’s follow her instructions while I read…”)

Songs, Rhymes & Fun

If You’re an Elephant/Pig and You Know It
(Sung to the to tune of “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)

Ten Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed (big book)
I’m not sure if they knew this song/book but I thought I would start using it. It’s easy to learn and easy to change for a different themed storytime.

The Craft

Mo Willems’ website has some PDF kits for printing.

For baby/toddler storytime, I printed some coloring sheets.

For preschool storytime, I printed (and enlarged) the craft where you dress Gerald the Elephant as Piggie. (Happy Pig Day! Kit)

verdict

Yeah…baby/toddler storytime was a bit of a mess. They did okay for a book or two but started to grow restless. I did my best to keep them up and moving. It worked for a few but not everyone. Now I know I need shorter stories and more rhymes/movements for them.

Preschool was a bit better. Things are going to be a bit rough with each group until they used to the new lady and how I do things.

Share Your Thoughts

