Pizza Storytime

I’m going to try to structure each month around a different letter and then each week the stories will all be about a word starting with that letter. September is all about the letter P.

Sign Language

This week’s word was pizza.

 

baby toddler storytime

The Books

Pete’s a Pizza by William Steig

Little Nino’s Pizzeria! by Karen Barbour

Songs, Rhymes & Fun

I tweaked “Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear Turn Around” and we sang “Pizza Man, Pizza Man.”

We played with felt pieces.

I tried to get the kids to follow along with Pete’s a Pizza and pretend to make their puppet into a pizza. That didn’t quite work as well as I hoped.

verdict

I think the idea of a pizza storytime worked better than the execution. At least at this age group.

Preschool

The Books

Pete’s a Pizza by William Steig

 

Secret Pizza Party by Adam Rubin

Songs, Rhymes & Fun

We played with the felt pieces again and did letters.

I tweaked “Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear Turn Around” and we sang “Pizza Man, Pizza Man.”

I tried to get the kids to follow along with Pete’s a Pizza and pretend to make their puppet into a pizza. It went better with the older kids. They had fun.

The Craft

We made pizza! I printed and cut out simple clip art pizza toppings. The kids ‘made’ their pizzas by gluing the toppings to paper plates.

verdict

The kids had fun but I didn’t like this storytime as much as I hoped. I wish we had better pizza books.

Share Your Thoughts

