Teen Program: Scratcher Tickets

Teen Program

No, we’re not bringing gambling into the library. We’re simply bringing scratcher tickets into the library. They’re easy and you can use them how you’d like.

I made mine as book recommendation scratchers.

Supplies needed:

  • Card stock (printer paper works as well)
  • Packing tape (if you have a laminator that works)
  • Acrylic paint and paint brushes
  • Dish soap

Use your computer to print up the basics of your card. I used Microsoft Publisher and used a business card template. I wrote a simple blurb on the cards about what it was. I left an empty rectangle on the bottom half of the card for me to write in.

I printed them up and cut them apart. I hand wrote titles and authors of books I recommended. I completely covered the cards with tape and trimmed the excess.

Ta-da! That’s your basic card.

Now to make it a scratcher, you simply paint on the card. Your paint is simply a mix of paint and a few drops of dish soap stirred together. Darker colors work best and you may need few layers. I recommend printing a rectangle on the card so you know where to write and paint.

Simply let them dry for a day and you’re good to go.

I used mine as a passive program in the YA area. I put a sign up explaining what the scratchers were. I had container for ‘new’ cards and another for used cards. A huge plus for the scratchers is they are reusable.

A few tips:

  • Don’t put all of your cards out at once. They will go through them super quick. I put a few out each day and took the used ones.
  • It does get messy but it’s easy clean up. Keep an eye on the area. You’ll probably want to wipe down the area once a day or so.
  • The maintenance for the program/display is pretty easy. I made a few sheets of cards to start off and then once a week or so I’d make another sheet to add to my supply and paint the used ones.
  • I did this for teens but you could use it for other age groups. Younger patrons probably need a bit more supervision.

Variations

  • If you give out prizes at programs, you could make these like lottery tickets with a few big winners.
  • Recommend other materials.
  • If you assign people to groups for a program, you could use these.
4 thoughts on “Teen Program: Scratcher Tickets

  1. That’s cool! I didn’t know you could make scratchers that way. Is it the dish soap that turns the paint into something scratcher-y? I’ll have to give it a try with my kids one of these days.

    Like

  2. We used scratch tickets for our summer reading program. I think it went over very well with the teens. We also found that we needed to put a thin coat of Mod Podge over the paint to keep the tickets from scratching too easily.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

