Fix Storytime

I’m going to try to structure each month around a different letter and then each week the stories will all be about a word starting with that letter. October is all about the letter X. I quickly discovered that words that start with X are hard to come by so we’re talking about words that have the letter X in them.

October is going to be a bit spotty as we have a storytime workshop and Spooky Storytime planned so I’m getting X ‘out of the way’ this month.

Sign Language

This week’s word was fix.

baby toddler storytime

The Books

Fix This Mess! by Tedd Arnold

Fix It, Sam by Lori Ries

Songs, Rhymes & Fun

As usual, we played with our felt peices.

 

verdict

The older toddlers liked the books but in general it wasn’t enough to keep everyone’s attention. I need to do more songs and rhymes.

Preschool

The Books

Albert the Fit-It Man by Janet Lord

Fix-It Duck by Jez Alborough

Tools by Taro Miura
This isn’t a great storytime book but it makes a great guessing game!

Songs, Rhymes & Fun

On the spur of the moment, I decided to try Open, Shut Them. For whatever reason, I’ve been hesitant to use too many songs/rhymes with the preschoolers because I thought they were a bit young. Turns out they liked this! I guess I should try more with them.

Instead of calling out letters for our felt pieces, I laid out the felt backgrounds with letters on them. This allowed the kids to have all the letters out in front of them and work through their felt pile by matching up the letters they had with the letters on the ground. I was a nice change of pace.

The Craft

I printed up some simple clip art of tools for them to color.

verdict

They were mildly interested in the book but liked our guessing game. I should try to do more of them!

Share Your Thoughts

