Shoes and Socks Storytime

I’m going to try to structure each month around a different letter and then each week the stories will all be about a word starting with that letter. December is all about the letter S.

Sign Language

This week’s word were shoes and socks.

baby toddler storytime

The Books

 alt=

Baby Shoes by Dashka Slater

Socksquatch by Frank W. Dormer

One Two That’s My Shoe by Alison Murray

Songs, Rhymes & Fun

As usual, we played with our felt pieces & puppets.

 

verdict

We had an odd group this week with more adult than kids at storytime. That said I think everyone enjoyed themselves. All the adults sang along and participated which always helps.

Preschool

The Books

I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin

Lucky Socks by Carrie Weston

Songs, Rhymes & Fun

We worked on matching up the foam numbers in the puzzle.

Shoe Matching Game

I found these awesome Shoe Lace Templates on Real Purdy. I printed several pairs up, cut them out, and punched holes in the correct place. I printed a few pairs on different colored paper. I tried to make every pair unique (polka dots, stripes, etc). I was going to have the kids help me match up the pairs.

The Craft

I let the kids pick some shoes from the game to color. I also made up some ‘shoelaces’ out of yarn and masking tape (for the aglet) so we could work on threading and/or tying.

verdict

No one showed! I’m a bit bummed that no one came. I was really looking forward to play with the shoes. :-/

Share Your Thoughts

